AJMA » Featured Reports » Occupational Limited License (OLL) Facts for Pennsylvania

Occupational Limited License (OLL) Facts for Pennsylvania


An Occupational Limited License (OLL) is a Class C (Non-Commercial Driver’s License) or Motorcycle Limited Driver’s License issued to a driver whose Pennsylvania driving privilege has been, or will be, suspended. An OLL authorizes you to drive a designated motor vehicle, under certain conditions, when it is necessary for the driver’s occupation, work, trade, medical treatment or study.

If your driving privilege has been revoked, disqualified, cancelled or recalled, you are not eligible for an OLL. If you have never been licensed by Pennsylvania or any other state, you are also ineligible to apply.

In order to apply, you must complete an Occupational Limited License Petition (form DL-15), which is available from the PENNDOT website. Mail the form, along with a check or money order, proof of insurance (copies only) and the required restoration fee (if not previously paid) to the Department at…

PA Department of Transportation
Bureau of Driver Licensing
P.O. Box 68689
Harrisburg, PA 17106-8689

A fee for applying for an OLL is $50.00 and is non-refundable.

Within 20 days of receiving your petition, the Department will inform you in writing whether or not you qualify for an OLL. If you qualify, you will receive an OLL camera card to obtain a photo OLL. You are to carry your photo OLL and DL -15A together at all times.

The OLL is valid for the length of your suspension term. After your driving privilege has been restored, the Department will return your valid regular driver’s license.

You may be issued only one (1) OLL every five (5) years.

If you are currently, or about to be suspended for any of the following violations, you are not eligible for an OLL.

  • 3345 – Passing a School Bus
  • 3367 – Racing on Highways
  • 3732 – Homicide by Vehicle
  • 3733 – Fleeing a Police Officer
  • 3734 – Driving Without Lights
  • 3735 – Homicide by Vehicle/DUI
  • 3736 – Reckless Driving
  • 3742 – Accidents Involving Death or Injury
  • 3743 – Leaving Scene of an Accident
  • 3802 – Driving Under the Influence (Possible exceptions see below)
  • 1533 or 6146 – Failure to Respond to a Citation
  • 1543 – Driving while Suspended (Possible exceptions see below)
  • 1547 – Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Testing (Possible exceptions see below)
  • 1786 – Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility
  • ARD Ordered Suspension for DUI Controlled Substance, Drug, Device & Cosmetic Act Violations
  • Underage Alcohol Violations (possible exceptions see below)
  • Any Serious Traffic Offense (Chapter 37)
  • Any Violations Relating to Accidents and Accident Reports

Exceptions to Disqualification for OLL after a DUI conviction:
1. A driver qualifies for an OLL following a DUI conviction only if the violation is your first offense and you are given a one year suspension. However, the OLL cannot be issued until the 60 days have been served for the suspension ofthe DUI.

2. A driver qualifies for an OLL if the conviction results in an 18 month suspension and the driver has no more than one prior DUI offense within the past 10 years, has served 12 months of the 18 month suspension, satisfied all restoration requirements and have the ignition interlock installed on your vehicle.

Other Limits on Eligibility:
You qualify for a OLL following a conviction for underage drinking only if the violation is your first offense.

You may be eligible for an OLL if your license is currently suspended for driving while suspended. However, this suspension must have occurred as a result of a prior indefinite suspension due to any unpaid citation or non-payment of a judgment, failure to attend a Departmental hearing or failure to undergo a Special Point Examination. The OLL cannot be issued until three (3) months have been served for the suspension for driving while under suspension.

You may appeal the denial of your request for an OLL by filing a petition with the Department requesting an Administrative Hearing. The cost for this Administrative Hearing is $100.00 and is non-refundable. However, a hearing will only be held to determine if the Department errored in its action. Extenuating circumstances will not be considered.